Château des Tours

Location & History

After seven centuries, Château des Tours is still there, in the middle of the Beaujolais countryside. Over the years, women and men have served their terroir, meticulously working to perfect their elixir with nuances of character and scent. First, admire how the wine moves in the glass and then you may taste it and be transported to the heart of Brouilly!

In the Heart of Brouilly

Beaujolais is located just below the southern tip of Burgundy wine country. North of Lyon, city of lights and capital of gastronomy, Beaujolais is home to 10 crus, including the largest of them, Brouilly, a few kilometers from Mâcon. You then have to go up the alley of walnut trees to arrive at Château des Tours and discover this splendid, perfectly renovated property, built over 700 years ago. There is no doubt that its architecture recalls the villages bordering the oh-so-famous land of golden stones that is the Beaujolais. This lively and luminous area is home to stone constructions in various warm and sunny shades of yellow ochre.

Château des Tours - Bouteille
At Château des Tours, 50 hectares of the vineyard are in Brouilly. Twenty additional hectares are nearby, in the town of Saint-Lager. Our priority is to respect nature and its biodiversity so that the terroir can reveal itself through an intense interpretation of Gamay.
Château des Tours - Champs

In the heart of Brouilly, Château des Tours is part of the current dynamism of developing the Beaujolais wine-growing terroirs, in particular through plot selections highlighting ancestral soils and know-how.

Sébastien Kargul, Director of the Château des Tours.

Château des Tours - Champs

Rarely has the Château des Tours carried its name so well!

Château des Tours - Tour

The original castle, likely rebuilt several times, dates back to the 10th century. It was undoubtedly built on the remains of a Roman villa as we found a vase filled with Roman coins when demolishing an old wall of the castle.

Today, it remains flanked by two majestic towers: the first, cylindrical and known as “Saracen,” was erected in the 12th century. It continues to dominate the entire region.
The second tower, which is square and lower, is also older, dating back to the Merovingian dynasty.

1331: Guichard VI le Grand, Lord and Baron of Beaujolais, is the first known owner of the Château des Tours: which he bought in 1331. And so began seven centuries of history, during which many owners succeeded each other, making their own contribution to the building. The Beaujeau and De La Chaize d’Aix were particularly influential owners.

Ideally located near the main communication routes, the Château des Tours was a notable center for trade starting in the 15th century, and an important fair was held there each year.

Today this fortress continues to watch over 70 hectares of vines dedicated exclusively to the Brouilly appellation. The Richard family completely renovated the estate following its acquisition in 1986.

Sources: “History of Beaujolais” P LOUVET – “The Historic Castles of Lyonnais and Beaujolais” SALOMON

Château des Tours

Situation & Histoire

Sept siècles après, Château des Tours est toujours là, au milieu de la campagne beaujolaise. Femmes et hommes sont au service de son terroir, toujours plus minutieux pour parfaire son élixir aux nuances de caractères et de parfums. Ce n’est qu’après avoir admiré le mouvement de son vin dans le verre, qu’il faut le goûter… Pour voyager au cœur de Brouilly !

Au cœur de Brouilly

Au-delà de la Bourgogne viticole, dans son prolongement au sud, c’est là que le Beaujolais se trouve. Au nord de Lyon, ville des lumières et capitale de la gastronomie, le Beaujolais accueille 10 crus dont le plus vaste d’entre eux, Brouilly, à quelques kilomètres de Mâcon. Il faut ensuite remonter l’allée de noyers pour arriver au Château des Tours et découvrir cette splendide bâtisse, vieille de plus de 700 ans, parfaitement rénovée. Nul doute que son architecture rappelle les villages frontaliers des pierres dorées du Beaujolais, ô combien célèbres. Cette terre vivante et lumineuse offre des constructions de pierres ocre jaune aux différentes teintes chaudes, comme ensoleillées.
Château des Tours - Bouteille
Au Château des Tours, l’amphithéâtre de vignes est grand de 50 hectares de Brouilly. 20 hectares supplémentaires se trouvent tout près, sur la commune de Saint-Lager. L’attention est portée sur le respect de la nature et de la biodiversité pour que le terroir s’exprime à travers une interprétation profonde et intense du gamay.
Château des Tours - Champs

Au cœur de Brouilly, le Château des Tours s’inscrit dans le dynamisme actuel de mise en valeur des terroirs du Beaujolais viticole, au travers notamment de sélections parcellaires mettant en exergue des sols et des savoir-faire ancestraux.

Sébastien Kargul, directeur du Château des Tours.

Château des Tours - Champs

Rarement Château des Tours n’aura si bien porté son nom !

Château des Tours - Tour

Le château primitif, reconstruit sans doute plusieurs fois, date du Xème siècle. Il a certainement été bâti sur les restes d’une villa romaine : en démolissant un mur ancien du château, on a trouvé un vase rempli de monnaies romaines.

Il reste aujourd’hui flanqué de deux majestueuses tours : la première, cylindrique et dite « sarrasine » a été érigée au XIIème siècle. Elle continue de dominer toute la région.
La seconde, carrée et plus basse, est également plus ancienne, datant des Mérovingiens.

1331 : Guichard VI le Grand, seigneur et baron du Beaujolais est le premier propriétaire connu du Château des Tours : il l’achète en 1331. Débutent alors sept siècles d’histoire au cours desquels se succèdent de nombreux propriétaires qui apporteront chacun leur pierre à l’édifice. Les Beaujeau et les De La Chaize d’Aix seront particulièrement influents.

Admirablement situé à proximité des grandes voies de communication, le Château des Tours est dès le XVème siècle un centre notable pour les échanges, une foire très importante s’y tenait chaque année.

Aujourd‘hui cette forteresse continue de veiller sur 70 hectares de vignes dédiés exclusivement à l’appellation Brouilly. Le domaine a été entièrement rénové par la Famille Richard à la suite de son acquisition en 1986.

Sources : « Histoire du Beaujolais » P LOUVET – « Les Châteaux Historiques du Lyonnais et du Beaujolais » SALOMON