Location & history

Some places will not leave you indifferent. Steeped in history, le Prieuré de Montézargues is one of those places. Protected by the surrounding vegetation and the building’s thick walls, this gives us the impression of being cut off from the world.
Borne Prieuré de Montézargues

In the Heart of Tavel, France’s 1st Rosé

By crossing the Rhône from Châteauneuf-du-Pape you will arrive in Tavel, a small village in the Provençal Gard. To the west stands the Pont du Gard, not far from Uzès and its famous market. Further down is Avignon, the city of Popes. Ideally located in the heart of Tavel is the Prieuré de Montézargues, nestled in the Mediterranean forest and dominated by Mont Ventoux. A little piece of paradise cut off from the world!

Borne Prieuré de Montézargues

A Place Steeped in History

It is certainly not by chance that a monastic community settled here in the twelfth century. The Prieuré de Montézargues was part of the abbey of Grandmont. William II and Rostang II of Sabran provided the necessary mill and water and the independent woods in 1199. The monks who settled at the Prieuré de Montézargues obtained fishing rights to the Pujaut pond, which has since dried up. Pope Innocent III wrote to the Abbot of Grandmont, urging him to receive this new community in grace. To which he consented. In 1295, only three clergymen remained.

Sauvegarde du Roy
The history of Tavel, which King Philip the Fair called the “king of rosés,” dates back to Roman times. Therefore, we can assume to a great extent that the “king of rosés” was also the “rosé of kings”! But also, that of popes. Prieuré de Montézargues wines were the only ones, along with the Burgundy Clos de Vougeot, officially identified as appearing at the pontifical table when the papacy resided in Avignon, in the 14th century.
Feuille

The Prieuré de Montézargues Today

Charmed by the beauty of the site, the Richard family acquired the estate in 2003. Today, the vineyard covers some 34 hectares of vines in one single parcel. To preserve nature and our terroirs, the estate has had organic certification since the 2013 vintage.

Feuille

Prieuré de Montézargues

Situation & Histoire

Il existe des lieux qui ne laissent pas indifférent. Le Prieuré de Montézargues en fait partie. Chargé d’histoire, il est protégé par la végétation environnante et par les épais murs d’enceinte de la bâtisse, ce qui lui donne l’impression d’être coupé du monde.
Borne Prieuré de Montézargues

Au cœur de Tavel, 1er rosé de France

C’est en traversant le Rhône de Châteauneuf-du-Pape que l’on arrive à Tavel, petit village du Gard provençal. À l’ouest, se dresse le Pont du Gard non loin d’Uzès et de son célèbre marché. Plus bas, se trouve Avignon, cité des Papes. En son cœur, Tavel où le Prieuré de Montézargues jouit d’une situation idéale, niché dans la forêt méditerranéenne et dominé par le Mont Ventoux. Un petit coin de paradis coupé du monde !
Borne Prieuré de Montézargues

Un lieu chargé d’histoire

Ce n’est certainement pas le hasard qui a conduit dès le XIIe siècle une communauté monastique à s’y installer. Le Prieuré de Montézargues est issu de l’abbaye de Grandmont. Guillaume II et Rostang II de Sabran lui offrirent en 1199, le moulin et l’eau qui lui sont nécessaires ainsi que les bois indépendants. Les moines qui s’installèrent alors au Prieuré de Montézargues obtinrent un droit de pêche sur l’étang de Pujaut (asséché depuis). Le Pape Innocent III, écrivit à l’Abbé de Grandmont pour lui enjoindre de recevoir en grâce cette nouvelle communauté. Ce à quoi il consentit. En 1295, ne demeuraient que trois religieux.

L’histoire du Tavel, que le Roi Philippe Le Bel qualifiait de « roi des rosés » remonte à l’époque romaine. On peut donc largement supposer que le « roi des rosés » était également le « rosé des rois » ! Mais aussi des papes : les vins du Prieuré de Montézargues étaient d’ailleurs les seuls, avec ceux du Clos de Vougeot en Bourgogne, à avoir été officiellement identifiés comme figurant à la table pontificale quand la papauté résidait à Avignon, au 14ème siècle.

Le Prieuré de Montézargues aujourd’hui

Charmée par la beauté du lieu, la famille Richard acquiert le domaine en 2003. Aujourd’hui, le vignoble couvre quelque 34 hectares de vigne d’un seul tenant. Dans une démarche de préservation de la nature et de nos terroirs, le domaine est certifié « agriculture biologique » depuis le millésime 2013.

Feuille