Location & History

Château Escalette is in the Côtes-de-Bourg region, on the right bank of the Dordogne and the Garonne rivers, between the Blayais and Libournais. Nearby is the city of Blaye and its citadel, classified UNESCO World Heritage Site. Then there is Bordeaux and its incomparable architectural heritage.

This castle is located on an eminence where one enjoys a magnificent view.

Treatise on wines by W. Franck (1824)

Vignes Château Escalette
Sitting on a hill, Château Escalette and its 9.5-hectare vineyard overlook the small valley that separates the towns of Villeneuve and Gauriac as well as the Gironde river, located less than a kilometer away.
Histoire Château Escalette

An Old and Rich History

The first mention of a Lord of Escalette dates back to 1578. At the beginning of the 17th century, the noble house came into the possession of the de Sauvanel family. Miss de Sauvanel probably brought it as a dowry to Messire Issac de Lescalette, who died there around 1697, and was buried in the church of Villeneuve. The castle then consisted of a rectangular main house flanked by two towers dating back beyond the seventeenth century. Many buildings testify to an intense existence: the big tower, the well in the courtyard and its imperial slate roof, the old bakery in the outbuildings to the west, and, of course, the wine buildings to the east.

Histoire Château Escalette

In 1725, Jean-Luc Dehalis called himself “Lord of Escalette en Bourgeais”. He had his feudal royalties and his manorial rights counted, and the land survey results revealed that they extended over portions of all the neighboring villages. Dehalis’ successors kept Escalette for a long time, and in 1782, thunder knocked down one of the towers. They sold the estate to the Goize family, owner until the end of the 19th century. Then in 1824, “Château Descalet” is mentioned in the Treatise on Wines by W. Franck, with “a production of 30 to 40 barrels”.

The Richard Family chose Château Escalette as their first acquisition of a wine-growing property in the early 1960s. Since its acquisition, the Richard Family has undertaken the castle’s renovation, notably by rehabilitating the vineyard, culminating in the ECOCERT ORGANIC certification obtained in 2013.

Château Escalette

Un Bordeaux Côté Nature

Les Côtes-de Bourg, c’est là que se situe Château Escalette, sur la rive droite de la Dordogne et de la Garonne, entre le Blayais et le Libournais. Tout près, la ville de Blaye et sa citadelle classée au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO. Puis, Bordeaux et son patrimoine architectural incomparable.

Ce château est situé sur une éminence l’on jouit d’une vue magnifique.

Traité des vins de W. Franck (1824)

Vignes Château Escalette
Assis sur une colline, Château Escalette et son vignoble de 9.5 hectares surplombent le petit vallon qui sépare les communes de Villeneuve et de Gauriac ainsi que la Gironde, située à moins d’un kilomètre.
Histoire Château Escalette

Une histoire séculaire riche

La première mention d’un Seigneur d’Escalette date de 1578. Au début du 17e siècle, la maison noble apparaît en possession de la famille de Sauvanel. Melle de Sauvanel la porta sans doute en dot à messire Issac de Lescalette, qui y mourut vers 1697, et fut enterré dans l ́église de Villeneuve. Le château se composait alors d ́un corps-de-logis rectangulaire flanqué de deux tours qui remontaient bien au-delà du XVIIe siècle. De nombreux corps de bâtiments attestent d’une vie intense, notamment la grosse tour, le puits dans la cour coiffé d ́un toit à l’impériale en ardoise et l’ancienne boulangerie dans les dépendances à l’ouest et, bien sûr, les bâtiments viticoles à l’est.
Histoire Château Escalette

En 1725, Jean-Luc DEHALIS se qualifiait « seigneur d ́Escalette en Bourgeais ». Il fit faire le dénombrement de ses redevances féodales et de ses droits seigneuriaux ; et il résulte de ce terrier qu’ils s ́étendaient sur des fractions de toutes les communes avoisinantes. Les successeurs de Dehalis gardèrent longtemps Escalette, et en 1782, le tonnerre abattit l’une des tours. Ils vendirent le domaine à la famille Goize, propriétaire jusqu’à la fin du XIXe siècle. Le « château Descalet » est ensuite mentionné en 1824 dans le Traité des vins de W. Franck, avec « une production de 30 à 40 tonneaux ».

C’est le Château Escalette que la Famille Richard choisit pour sa première acquisition d’une propriété viticole, au début des années 1960. Dès son rachat, la Famille Richard a entrepris la rénovation des bâtiments du Château, et surtout la reconstitution du vignoble avec comme point d’orgue la certification BIO ECOCERT obtenue en 2013.