Château Victoria

A confidential Haut-Médoc

On the left bank of the Bordeaux wine region, bordered by the Gironde river on one side and the Landes forest on the other, the renowned Médoc is home to many treasures, reflecting the history of the Bordeaux vineyard. To the south is the Haut-Médoc appellation, at the gates of Bordeaux and its historical monuments. Near Saint-Estèphe, in the town of Vertheuil, is where Château Victoria and its two other vineyards, Château Le Bourdieu Vertheuil and Château Picourneau are located.

Why Victoria?

The anecdote of the name can be traced back to two Englishmen.

In June 1875, as they strolled through the Médoc, they fell under the spell of the Château de Coutelin in ruins surrounded by its vineyards. They decided to have a picnic there and toast in honor of their queen. They made sketches of the castle, which they nicknamed Victoria, of course. Since that day, the pediment of the castle has been decorated with the English coat of arms.

Vitrail

One Team, Two Castles, Three Vineyards

This is Château Victoria today.

Mr. Ernest Barbe is at the origin of the bringing together of these three entities. In 1943, he first bought Château Le Bourdieu Vertheuil (castle and vines), one of the oldest vineyards in the Médoc, then Château Victoria (castle and vines), and the Château Picourneau vineyard. As soon as the Richard family purchased them in 1989, they formed an ensemble managed by a single team. They were merged under the common identity of Château Victoria, bringing together three Haut-Médoc, two of which are classified as Cru Bourgeois.

Bouteilles

Château Victoria and Château le Bourdieu Vertheuil are both Crus Bourgeois

Formerly called “Crus des Bourgeois”, this classification originated in the Middle Ages with the merchants of that time.

Thanks to the wine trade, they became bourgeois and purchased the best plots in the Médoc. This hierarchy appeared in the 19th century and evolved from year to year. Today, it consists of a five-year classification on three levels, starting from the 2018 vintage. However, Château Victoria has been classified as Cru Bourgeois since 1931. Château Le Bourdieu Vertheuil became as such in 1936.

Cru Bourgeois

Bouteilles

Château Victoria

Un Haut-Médoc confidentiel

Sur la rive gauche du vignoble de Bordeaux, longé par la Gironde d’un côté et par la forêt des Landes de l’autre, le Médoc, terre de renom, abrite de nombreux trésors, reflet de l’histoire du vignoble de Bordeaux. Au sud, l’appellation Haut-Médoc est aux portes de Bordeaux et de ses monuments historiques. Tout près de Saint-Estèphe, à Vertheuil, c’est là que se trouvent Château Victoria et ses deux autres vignobles, Château Le Bourdieu Vertheuil et Château Picourneau.

L’anecdote du nom

Pourquoi Victoria ? C’est grâce à deux Anglais… C’est en Juin 1875, lors d’une promenade dans le Médoc, qu’ils tombent sous le charme des ruines du Château de Coutelin au milieu de ses vignes. Ils décident alors d’y pique-niquer et portent de nombreux toasts en l’honneur de leur reine. Ils font un croquis du château qu’ils baptisent évidemment Victoria. Depuis ce jour, le fronton du château est orné des armes d’Angleterre.
Vitrail

Une équipe, deux bâtisses, trois vignobles

C’est ce qu’est Château Victoria aujourd’hui.

C’est Monsieur Ernest BARBE qui est à l’origine du rassemblement de ces trois entités. En 1943, il achète d’abord le Château Le Bourdieu Vertheuil (bâtisse et vignes), l’un des plus anciens vignobles du Médoc, puis le Château Victoria (bâtisse et vignes), et le vignoble du Château Picourneau. Dès leur rachat par la famille RICHARD en 1989, ils forment un ensemble géré par une seule équipe. Ils sont alors rassemblés sous une identité commune, celle du Château Victoria, qui réunit trois Haut-Médoc dont deux classés Cru Bourgeois.

Bouteilles

Château Victoria et Le Bourdieu Vertheuil : deux Crus Bourgeois

Anciennement dénommée « Crus des Bourgeois », cette classification vient d’abord du Moyen Âge et des marchands de l’époque.

Devenus bourgeois grâce au commerce du vin, ils achetèrent les meilleures parcelles du médoc. La hiérarchisation apparaît au XIXe siècle et évolue d’année en année. Aujourd’hui, il s’agit d’un classement quinquennal sur trois niveaux, à partir du millésime 2018. Mais c’est depuis 1931 que Château Victoria est, et reste classé Cru Bourgeois. Château Le Bourdieu Vertheuil, le devient en 1936.

Cru Bourgeois

Bouteilles